Law Subject Guide

Find articles and proceedings

Use the following online journals and databases to find the relevant journal articles of Law and related disciplines. You can access the subscribed online journals and databases both on and off-campus access.

Online Journals & Databases

  • EBSCOhost (Academic Search Premier)
    This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles.

  • Cambridge University Press Journals
    Cambridge University Press publish more than 380 peer-reviewed academic journals covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, management and science, technology and medicine. 38 journals are available on Law.

  • JSTOR
    JSTOR's archives include scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. 150 journals are available on Law and related disciplines through JSTOR.

  • Manupatra
    Manupatra, is an online legal research database. It is the largest content aggregator of Indian and International material, linking primary information, secondary material and proprietary analytical content. With primary documents and proprietary analytical content covering commentaries, treatises, digests, editorial enhancements.

  • GOALI
    Global Online Access to Legal Information (GOALI) through Research4life
    More than 3000 journals are available on law, international law and related disciplines.

  • SpringerLink
    Provides full-text online access to 30 journals on Law.

  • Scopus
    World's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature.

  • Wiley Online Library
    Wiley Online Library is a leading international resource for scientific, technical, medical and scholarly content providing access to millions of articles across a wide range of journals. Partial access to very few journals on law from 2006-2018.

eBooks

All eBooks that the BRACU Library purchases are available in the library's catalog. You can find books by title, author or keyword. You can also browse collections of eBooks directly to the eBook’s packages listed below. You can access the purchased eBooks both on and off-campus access.

Online Journals & Databases

  • Cambridge University Press
    245 eBooks on law and related disciplines.

  • GOALI
    Global Online Access to Legal Information (GOALI) through Research4life
    More than 100 eBooks are available on law, international law and related disciplines.

  • SpringerLink
    135 eBooks are available on Law.

Find dissertations and theses

The Ayesha Abed Library's thesis collection holds a large collection thesis deposited at the Brac University since the degree began in its present form. The following these are uploaded on Dspace (the University’s Institutional Repository)

Open Access Legal Resources

All eBooks that the BRACU Library purchases are available in the library's catalog. You can find books by title, author or keyword. You can also browse collections of eBooks directly to the eBook’s packages listed below. You can access the purchased eBooks both on and off-campus access.

Books

Dictionaries

  • WEX
    WEX is the Legal Information Institute's free legal dictionary and encyclopedia.

  • EUR-Lex
    EUR-Lex provides free access to EU law including (EU treaties, directives, regulations, decisions, consolidated legislation) and EU case-law (judgements, orders, etc.).

  • Law.com
    This site offers a free legal dictionary that defines important legal terms. It is a good resource when getting started with a new legal topic.

  • Justia.com Dictionary
    Justia also offers a legal dictionary that is both searchable and browse-able by major legal topics.

  • NOLO
    This legal encyclopedia offers articles on a wide range of practice areas including Bankruptcy, Disability law, Family Law, IP, Real Estate and Finance.

Other Resources

  • World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
    OKR contains works from 2009-2012 on a wide range of topics and all regions of the world, as well as links to datasets associated with research.

  • Google News Archive
    Google's News Archive allows users to search historical newspapers and retrieve scanned images of their pages. While the holdings are a bit sporadic in some cases and it is not specific to legal newspapers, it is worth a try if you are searching for a PDF of a newspaper article.

  • Trove
    This database collects newspapers digitized as part of the Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program.

  • Open Access Theses and Dissertations
    OATD indexes records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online. Information about the theses comes from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions. The index currently contains 1.5 million theses and dissertations.

Manage your references

Style Guides

Use these quick and comprehensive guides for examples of how to cite common types of sources in APA, MLA, IEEE, and Chicago styles.

Citation Management

Get Help

Book an appointment with a librarian for expert assistance with:

  • Getting started with your thesis
  • Planning your search to save time and stress
  • Choosing the best search tools and sources
  • Keyword searching and other strategies
  • Applying referencing styles

For appointment send an email to librarian@bracu.ac.bd

Thesis Help

The Library thesis template is designed to assist students in preparing thesis.