Architecture Subject Guide

Archnet

A globally-accessible resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world. Archnet is a partnership between the Aga Khan Trust for Culture and the Aga Khan Documentation Center at MIT Libraries. 

Asian Historical Architecture

A photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage with over 9000 photos of 595 sites in eighteen countries, and includes background information and virtual tours. This website is a collection of photos from many different contributors.

Catena

Digitial Archive of Historic Gardens + Landscapes  A searchable collection of historic and contemporary images of historic gardens and landscapes that include plans, engravings, paintings, and photographs along with historic documents and bibliography.

Chartres

Cathedral of Notre Dame Working with the ULS Digital Research Library, Dr. Alison Stones (Professor of History of Art and Architecture at the University of Pittsburgh) created this comprehensive online image collection documenting the architecture, sculpture and stained glass of the Cathedral of Chartres, one of the most important monuments of Europe's cultural heritage. The image collection contains over three thousand images that can be searched by descriptive keyword or browsed by logical arrangement. All of the images can be displayed at a very high-resolution (3000 ppi).

Cities & Buildings Database

A collection of over 5000 digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web. The images have been scanned from original slides or drawn from documents in the public domain. Researchers can search for buildings by country, city, style, title, architect, date of construction, as well as other fields.

Cyburbia--The Planning and Architecture Internet Resource Center

A portal site for urban planners and others interested in cities and the built environment, contains a selective directory of Internet resources relevant to planning and urbanism. Cyburbia also includes information about mailing lists and newsgroups, and it hosts a very active bulletin board and image hosting gallery.

Emporis

A database on architectural and building data with the goal of indexing all buildings and structures worldwide. It includes technical data, interesting facts, and photos for included buildings.

RIBApix

A growing database dedicated to providing exceptional and unique images from the collections of the British Architectural Library at the Royal Institute of British Architects, the world’s most extensive visual archive devoted to architecture. RIBApix covers world architecture of all periods together with related subjects such as interior design, landscape, topography, planning, construction and the decorative arts.

Vitruvio.ch

Online guide to academic and research resources in architecture. Contains index of famous architects with links to biographical data and works; index of architectural historians; images and resources organized by architectural style and by city; links to schools, magazines and architects' sites worldwide organized by country; links to architectural archives; image galleries; other online directories.